Hannes Fuß – Visual Media

Custom-Tailored Digital Work

I help you to realize your digital projects.

Get in touch!

Creative power and technical expertise aren't everything—communication is key. In the course of a project you can be sure that you will always be well informed. It is important for me that you feel comfortable and in good hands. We all don't need any nail-biting, sleepless nights and broken deadlines.

Webdesign & Web Development

You are just right with me if you are looking for a custom-tailored solution for your website, such as a:

  • Portfolio page
  • Blog
  • Small to medium corporate website
  • Addition, extension or modernization for your existing website
  • New design for your existing website

Usually I develop HTML code and stylesheets from scratch. This results in slim code without overhead which is easy to maintain and guarantees a short loading time for your website.

The typical procedure during development of a new website consists of the following milestones:

  • Development of a basic design e.g. with Photoshop
  • Realization as a static HTML5 website with CSS3 and JavaScript
  • Dynamization within a CMS: Usually MODX Revolution, sometimes Wordpress
  • Customization of the CMS backend according to the needs of the editors
  • SEO measures, bugfixing, launch
Relaunch for co.patient
Webdesign & Web Development Data Intelligence Offensive
Web Development meco Akademie

Sample screenshots: Webdesign & Web Development

Sample screenshots: Webdesign & Web Development

View Selected Projects Webdesign & Web Development »

WebApps

At the same time as smartphones and tablets there appeared the App marketplaces. No matter whether App Store (iOS) or Play Store (Android)—the major tech companies control the Apps installed on their mobile platforms. Notably Apple strictly excludes alternative ways of installing software. The pushed forward reason is security, the real reason is the sparkling source of income through App sales and long term customer loyalty to the platform.

But there is another way: You can avoid these dependencies with a WebApp. Your data remain on your server. Essentially WebApps are websites optimized for mobile devices offering some extras. These include:

  • Cross platform usage
  • Icon for the homescreen
  • Fullscreen mode
  • Offline capabilities

No matter if you want to use a WebApp on the iPad, an Android tablet or your desktop computer—they run on all platforms and modern browsers. WebApps are ideal for:

  • Digital sales folders
  • Product presentations
  • eDetailing
  • eLearning modules

All modern web standards can be used for design and animation, because on mobile devices usually modern browsers are installed. Up to now I implemented WebApps via HTML5 Application Cache. Since March 30, 2018, iOS also supports the new Progressive Web App (PWA) standard, which offers several additional features. If Microsoft follows soon, as announced, this technology will be available on all major browsers.

WebApp for Pharma Field Service
WebApp MDS for Patient Consultation
WebApp iPad Quiz

Sample screenshots: WebApps

Sample screenshots: WebApps

View Selected Projects WebApps »

Animation & Film

Digital animations are everywhere—from 3D blockbusters over annoying website ads to micro animations in user interfaces. You can find the latter on this website. In web development I like to use SVG animations if possible, because they consume just little bandwidth and are rendered always sharp. For more complex animations (which need a timeline in development) I used Adobe Edge Animate for some time. In the end it always depends on the customer's requirements which animation tool I consider the most suitable.

Some of my projects in the recent years were product films. Because pure 3D animations usually exceed the budget, there emerged some kind of 2½D hybrid as a cheaper alternative: Some part of the imagery is produced as 3D in Maxon Cinema 4D which is later combined and animated with 2D material in Adobe After Effects.

Product Film Diagnostic Device
Film Product Portfolio
Product Film Medical Technology

Sample screenshots: Animation & Film

Sample screenshots: Animation & Film

View Selected Projects Animation & Film »

Graphic Design & Editorial Design

20 years ago I created my first book covers in Photoshop 4.0 and Freehand 7.0. At that time hard drives had a maximum capacity of 1GB and sounded like a hair dryer. Color management was still in its infancy and it was always exciting, whether the printed result looked somehow like what you had seen before on your CRT screen. Tools changed but I still design book covers (as well as flyers, brochures and catalogues).

Book Cover Telepolis
Anatomical Illustrations for eLearning
Brochure Product Portfolio

Sample screenshots: Graphic Design & Editorial Design

Sample screenshots: Graphic Design & Editorial Design

View Selected Projects Graphic Design & Editorial Design »

More about me

Portrait Hannes Fuß

Self-perception: More cooperative than competitive, slightly nerdy (still within the limits), less of a promoter, always interested in best possible communication of information. »Good enough« is not enough for the satisfying certainty that I have made a good job. I try to evaluate the real gain of new technical developments and design trends: There are some elements I might use, many others seem to me like one-day wonders.

It belongs to my part to see your perspective and recept with open mind what you really need. From my experience I will tell you what I consider the best solution.

I live and work in Berlin, but that is of minor importance—thanks to broadband internet.

Hannes Fuß – Visuelle Medien

Maßarbeit digital

Ich helfe Ihnen bei der Umsetzung Ihrer digitalen Projekte.

Melden Sie sich!

Kreative Stärken und technische Expertise sind nicht alles – die Kommunikation muss ebenfalls stimmen. Bei mir können Sie sicher sein, dass Sie während des Projektverlaufs immer bestmöglich informiert sind. Mir ist wichtig, dass Sie sich gut aufgehoben fühlen: Zitterpartien, schlaflose Nächte und gebrochene Deadlines brauchen wir alle nicht.

Webdesign & Webentwicklung

Sie sind richtig bei mir, wenn Sie eine maßgefertigte Lösung für Ihren Internet-Auftritt suchen, z. B.:

  • Portfolio-Seiten
  • Blogs
  • Kleinere bis mittlere Unternehmensseiten
  • Ergänzung, Erweiterung oder Modernisierung Ihrer bestehenden Seite
  • Eine neue Gestaltung für Ihre bestehende Seite

In der Regel entwickle ich den HTML-Code und die Stylesheets von Grund auf vollständig selbst. Das Ergebnis ist schlanker, gut wartbarer Code ohne Overhead und eine entsprechend kurze Ladezeit der Seite.

Der typische Ablauf bei der der Neuerstellung einer Webseite gliedert sich in folgende Milestones:

  • Entwicklung eines Grunddesigns z. B. in Photoshop
  • Umsetzung als statische Seite in HTML5, CSS3 und JavaScript
  • Dynamisierung in einem CMS: Meist MODX Revolution, manchmal Wordpress
  • Anpassung des Backends des CMS an die Anforderungen der Editoren
  • SEO-Maßnahmen, Bugfixing, Launch
Webdesign & Webentwicklung Conelis e. V.
Webdesign & Webentwicklung LTG
Webentwicklung Maria Anna Dewes

Beispiel-Screenshots: Webdesign & Webentwicklung

Beispiel-Screenshots: Webdesign & Webentwicklung

Zur Projektauswahl Webdesign & Webentwicklung »

WebApps

Mit den Smartphones und Tablets kamen zeitgleich die App Marketplaces. Ob App Store (iOS) oder Play Store (Android), die Technologie-Multis kontrollieren die auf ihren Plattformen installierten Apps. Vor allem Apple schließt alternative Wege der Software-Installation rigoros aus. Sicherheit ist dabei ein gerne vorgeschobener Aspekt, der eigentliche ist die sprudelnde Einnahmequelle aus App-Verkäufen über die Stores und die langfristige Bindung der User an die Plattform.

Es gibt einen anderen Weg: Mit einer WebApp vermeiden Sie diese Abhängigkeiten. Ihre Daten bleiben auf Ihrem Server. WebApps sind im Wesentlichen für Mobilgeräte optimierte Webseiten, die einige Zusatzeigenschaften haben. Dazu gehören:

  • Läuft auf allen Betriebssystemen
  • Icon für den Homescreen
  • Vollbildmodus
  • Offline-Funktion

Ob Sie die WebApp mit einem iPad, Android Tablet oder Ihrem Desktop-Computer nutzen wollen – alle Plattformen und moderne Browser werden unterstützt. WebApps sind ideal für:

  • Digitale Sales-Folder
  • Produktpräsentationen
  • E-Detailing
  • E-Learning-Module

Alle modernen Webstandards können für Gestaltung und Animation genutzt werden, da auf Mobilgeräten i. d. R. moderne Browser zum Einsatz kommen. Bisher habe ich WebApps mit der Technik HTML5 Application Cache umgesetzt. Seit 30. März 2018 unterstützt auch iOS den neuen Standard Progressive Web Apps (PWA), der einige weitere Möglichkeiten bietet. Wenn wie angekündigt Microsoft bald nachzieht, steht diese Technologie auf allen wichtigen Browsern zur Verfügung.

WebApp für den Pharma-Außendienst
WebApp MDS fürs Patientengespräch
WebApp iPad-Quiz

Beispiel-Screenshots: WebApps

Beispiel-Screenshots: WebApps

Zur Projektauswahl WebApps »

Animation & Film

Ein Teil meiner Projekte der letzten Jahre waren Produktfilme. Da reine 3D-Produktionen meist den geplanten Etat sprengen, kristallisierte sich als Alternative eine Art 2½D-Mischform heraus: Ein Teil des Bildmaterials wird im 3D-Programm Cinema 4D erstellt und zusammen mit 2D-Material in Adobe After Effects montiert und animiert.

Digitale Animation ist überall – von 3D-Block-Bustern im Kino über nervende Werbebanner auf Webseiten bis hin zu Mikroanimationen in User Interfaces. Letztere sind auch auf dieser Webseite anzutreffen. In Webseiten setze ich gerne SVG-Animationen ein, weil sie sehr wenig Bandbreite erfordern und immer scharf gerendert werden. Bei komplexeren Animationen, welche eine Timeline erfordern, nutzte ich eine Zeit lang Adobe Edge Animate. Letztlich hängt es von den genauen Anforderungen ab, für welche Tools ich mich im Einzelfall entscheide.

Produktfilm Diagnosegerät
Film Produkt-Portfolio
Produktfilm Medizintechnik

Beispiel-Screenshots: Animation & Film

Beispiel-Screenshots: Animation & Film

Zur Projektauswahl Animation & Film »

Grafikdesign & Editorial Design

Die ersten Buchcover erstellte ich vor 20 Jahren mit Photoshop 4.0 und Freehand 7.0. Festplatten hatten zu der Zeit maximal 1GB Kapazität und klangen wie ein Fön. Colormanagement steckte noch in den Kinderschuhen und es war immer spannend, ob im Druck ungefähr das rauskommt, was man auf dem Röhrenmonitor entworfen hatte. Die Werkzeuge haben sich geändert, aber Buchcover gestalte ich immer noch. Flyer, Broschüren und Kataloge ebenfalls.

Buchcover Telepolis
Abbildungen Anatomie für E-Learning
Broschüre Produkt-Portfolio

Beispiel-Screenshots: Grafikdesign & Editorial Design

Beispiel-Screenshots: Grafikdesign & Editorial Design

Zur Projektauswahl Grafikdesign & Editorial Design »

Mehr über mich

Portrait Hannes Fuß

Selbstwahrnehmung: Eher kooperativ als kompetitiv, leichte Tendenzen zu Nerdigkeit (aber noch im Rahmen), kein Werbefuzzi, sondern immer interessiert an optimaler Informationsvermittlung. »Good enough« reicht mir eher nicht für das schöne Gefühl, einen guten Job gemacht zu haben. Ich versuche, den wirklichen Gewinn neuer technischer Entwicklungen und Design-Trends für mich zu evaluieren. Manches übernehme ich, Vieles ist meiner Ansicht nach eine Eintagsfliege.

Zu meinem Part gehört, Ihre Perspektive zu sehen und mit offenen Sinnen zu erschließen, was Sie wirklich brauchen. Aus meiner Erfahrung heraus sage ich Ihnen, was ich für die beste Lösung halte.

Ich lebe und arbeite in Berlin, aber das ist dank Breitband-Internet nicht so wichtig.